Friday, June 30, 2006

Emoticons

I find that some of the people I chat with online like to pepper their conversations with a variety of emoticons. You know what I'm talking about. Those winky, smiley, gasping, laughing smiley faces that have become oh so ubiquitous.

I'm somewhat ambivalent about the use of these emoticons. I suppose I just don't believe you can really be laughing if you have time to input a laughing smiley face into our conversation.

Also, I come from a somewhat reserved family and culture, and it just seems heavy-handed and a bit forced to tell someone that you are now happy or laughing or winking. I wonder what it says about my psyche that I don't believe something unless it's being told unintentionally or unwillingly. Another discussion for another day. I have a different point today.

I wish people wouldn't use emoticons that represent actions that they wouldn't ever do. Never mind if they are actually actively engaging in the presented emoticon action/emotion.

As an example, those winking smiley faces. I don't have a single friend who winks at me during face to face conversations, and yet I have friends who throw these winks into online conversations. What's with that? I KNOW you're not winking! And I know you know you're not winking! For all you online winkers out there, you better start winking in real life, or I will start outing you for the liars that you are!

Friday, June 23, 2006

Tomorrow's Raceday!

The big Toronto Dragonboat festival is this weekend!

It'll be fun I think.

One of the co-captains asked me to think about running to be a captain for the team next year. I was muchly honoured. I'll be away from Hamilton too much to do it though. Ah well. I always wondered how they selected the team captains. Rowing ability is clearly not a factor. We go to buffets after practice sometimes. Perhaps it's by food consumption. I'm really good at that.

One of my sister's friends has been my volunteer patient this week. Sometimes, we'll play catch at lunch. She is THE best girl thrower I have ever personally witnessed. It's so that people passing by make comments about how she has a good arm. And doesn't throw like a girl.

I don't think they're being sexist or anything. It's just highly unusual to see a girl with a gun of a throwing arm. Especially little slender Asian ones.

Monday, June 19, 2006

From Presto to Andante- Census results

The Simonscapes census is still collecting, for those of you who've yet to fill it out.

However, early analysis has already revealed a not so hidden truth.

Question 6: If I had to use one word to describe the way Simon TALKS:

1. excitedly
2. energetically
3. fast, sometimes slurs syllables
4. like dad
5. intricate
6. happily
7. loud
8. too fast
9. fast
10. quickly
11. Lots
12. humorous
13. fast
14. loud
15. rapidly
16. funny

My parents have been harassing me about the speed of my elocution for some time now. But parental advice upon my ears, is like water upon a ducks back; I just attributed their complaints to their aging thought processes and imperfect grasp of the English language. In retrospect, this does seem silly, seeing as my Dad is a university professor, and my Mom is a translator. And looking at the census results, they don't appear to be the only ones who think I speak too quickly.

But that's perhaps a simplification. I realize I tend to chatter, but I've always believed I could turn on my 'professional' voice as the need arose. This illusion was dispelled when one of my volunteer study subjects had to phone my sister since the message I left on her machine was unintelligable.

Which got me thinking that perhaps speaking quickly, and all that it implies (excitability, immaturity, flightiness?) isn't something you can turn on or off. It becomes a part of you.

I speak quickly because I'm eager to get my point across. It occurs to me that perhaps I should slow down, so that I get the RIGHT point across.

Initially, I thought that speaking at a more moderate cadence would be but a small change. I wonder now, whether it would cause greater ripples. I'd give a different first impression. I'd appear more professional. My parents would understand what I was saying, so they wouldn't be talking to me from a baseline of irate confusion. I'd have time to think about what I say. Conceivably, that might even result in my saying less stupid things. Or even... more smart things.

The slow talk movement begins today.

Friday, June 16, 2006

Appassionata

I met with my friend for frozen yogurt yesterday. He just got back from a vacation in Paris and will be starting residency in July.

Anyways, he's suffering from some existential-type angst. Basically, he doesn't feel like there's a point. To life I mean.

Which may sound funny coming from a young man on the cusp of starting his career, but I think it makes a lot of sense.

In undergrad, his goal was to get into medical school. It was his purpose.
In medical school, it was to get into residency.

And now... And now what?

He doesn't have a passion for anything. Nothing to drive him, to wake him up in the morning. I suggested picking up some sort of hobby, but upon reflection, I don't think passion works like that. I actually think those with passion are the lucky minority. I think the majority of people care moderately about most things, as opposed to care passionately about a certain thing.

It worries me a bit. You spend all your life wishing that the system would stop putting hoops for you to jump through, and then you realize that without the hoops, you've got nothing left!

My sister told me that many of the worlds religions share common themes. This does not surprise me. We all have the same question. What is the point of it all?

Tailchaser's song

Maybe the trick is to always be chasing something just outside your grasp.

Nothing lives up to the hype anyways. The hunting is the best part. And while you're chasing something, you have a goal, a purpose.

It's exhausting to think that you must always be searching for something in order to feel that your life has meaning.

But the alternative is just as unpalatable.

The options are:
a) To seek endlessly for that which you cannot find.
b) To drift aimlessly with nothing to look for.

Comfortable

It's easy to accept the status quo. To continue to do things as they've always been done. But breaking out of one's comfort zone is.. well.. uncomfortable.

From what I hear though, you stand to gain the most by breaking out of your comfort zone.

I'm not sure whether I agree or not.

Also, it's been awhile since I've felt like I really did something outside my comfort zone. I think this means that:

a) I'm never completely comfortable, so I can't tell what true comfort zone feels like

or

b) I'm completely comfortable with most things.

I'm not sure really.

Sunday, June 11, 2006

Websites As Graphs!


Simonscapes
Originally uploaded by chan_siu_man.
Go make a map of your website! There are some cool ones out there.

Also, if you haven't already (and I KNOW most of you haven't), go fill out the Simonscapes Census!

Saturday, June 10, 2006

Census 2006!

The government had its census not too long ago. I did my civic duty and filled my survey out. I figure why not. It was relatively painless. Plus, apparently it's against the law NOT to fill it out. Although I don't know what sorta thing happens to you if you choose to stick it to the man and avoid censusing.

The point is, that I'm running the first inaugural Simoncapes Census!

Click here to take survey

It's meant for ANY and ALL visitors to this site. Please don't fill it out more than once. Stand up and be counted, people!

Thursday, June 08, 2006

Meatballs

There was Italian Wedding Soup at the caf today. It was the meatballs floating in the soup that caught my attention.

Naturally I got a bowl, carefully straining out as much soup as possible, to maximize my meatball to soup ratio. Or weight to cost ratio. However you want to think about it.

As I sat down to enjoy what was essentially a slightly damp block of meat, I couldn't help but congratulate myself for paying soup prices for an entre-sized portion of protein. I took a bite out of my first (of many) meatballs and realized two things:

1. I'm not really such a fan of meatballs.
2. I'm not even such a fan of Italian Wedding Soup.

Now, why do I do this? Why would I seek to maximize value even at the expense of my enjoyment? What is the use of spending money on something you don't like, no matter how good a deal it is?

I think my upbringing has over-reinforced getting a good deal. It'd be alien to act in any other way. Getting a good deal has become a reward in itself, regardless of whether you actually wanted the product being sold.

Asian parenting is crazy like that.

Thursday, June 01, 2006

I get it now!

I can not even imagine the world kids are growing up in nowadays. When I was a kid, I used to dream about owning a computer that would tell you the answer to anything. And now we have the internet. I think if my 5 year old self could see me today with my tablet computer, he'd think I was some sort of Star Trek space man or something.

But then I think that maybe it's the eyes of youth that make things mysterious and astonishing, and not the actual events or objects we witness.

Childhood misunderstandings. A list incomplete:

1. Guerrilla warfare. I thought for the longest time that we were fighting against gorillas.
2. Crying when you're happy. I remember seeing reunited familes crying when the Berlin Wall came down. I just didn't get how you could be so happy you'd cry.
3. Mike Baird. Was one of my Dad's colleagues. Only with his unique pronounciation, it always sounded like my Dad was saying "Mighty Bear". I remember thinking that this Mighty Bear must be affiliated in some way with the Giant Tiger, and that it was truly wonderful to have a Father who kept such company.

I can't think of anything else right now. Anyone else got stuff to add to the list?